How To Play Roulette Tutorial

But over extended play, the house will earn its percentage. Tabletop CF Ninepins Game. This shows the odds are primarily affected by the version of roulette being played but also are affected by the bet itself. For American roulette, the double zero version, it is 5. Only after the croupier places the dolly on the winning number on the roulette table and clears all the losing bets you can then start placing your new bets while the croupier pays the winners. The courts can be drawn with chalk on a concrete surface or with a stick on a bare spot of level ground. The betting round ends when all players have either called the last bet or folded.

8BallerOnline Pool & Snooker - Play Online

How to Play Roulette

Each player takes two chips from his stack and takes them under the table, bringing up a closed fist that contains either no chips indicating that the player intends to win the low half of the pot , one chip indicating that the player intends to win the high half , or two chips indicating that he intends to scoop.

When everyone has brought up the closed fist, the players all open their hands simultaneously to reveal their choices. If any player shows two chips, and his hand is the best low and the best high, he scoops the pot.

Otherwise, half of the pot goes to the player with the highest hand who declared high, and the other half to the player with the lowest hand of those who declared low. There is no qualifying hand to win either high or low, and if no one declares in one direction, the full pot is awarded in the other for example, if all players declare low, the low hand wins the whole pot rather than half.

A player who declares for a scoop must win both ends outright, with no ties. For example, if a player declares scoop, has the lowest hand clearly but ties for high, he wins nothing. The other player with the same high hand wins the high half of the pot and the next-lowest hand wins low assuming he declared low—if no other player declared low, the high hand who declared high wins the whole pot.

This game can be played with deuce-to-seven low or ace-to-six low hand values, but in that case it is nearly impossible to scoop though the whole pot could still be won if everyone declares the same direction. Another variation that can be applied to any game above, but that is especially suited to lowball.

On the initial deal, only four cards are dealt to each player. A betting round follows, then each player draws one more card than he discards, completing his hand to five cards. Then the final betting round and showdown. Note that it is impossible to be dealt a "pat" hand, that is, a hand such as a straight or flush that is complete before the draw. Played with one joker which acts as a bug. Must be played with antes and no blinds. Each player is dealt five cards. The first betting round begins with the player to the dealer's left, who may check or open with anything.

If any player opens, the game continues as traditional five-card draw poker. If the first round is passed out that is, no one opens , then the player to the dealer's left may now open if he chooses, but the game has switched to California lowball. On the rare occasion that the deal is passed out yet again, players re-ante and deal again.

This game plays well head-up that is, with only two players. When the game is played that a pair of jacks or better is required to open on the first high-hand round, the game is called "Jacks back". This is a lowball game designed by Michael Wiesenberg that combines some of the variations mentioned above. It is generally played with three blinds —one unit from the dealer, one unit to his left, and two units for the second player to the dealer's left.

The deck contains one joker. Each player is dealt three cards, followed by a round of betting beginning with the player immediately after the big blind who may call the big blind, raise, or fold there is no checking on the first round.

Next, each player is dealt a fourth card, followed by a second round of betting starting with the still-active player to the dealer's left. No checking is allowed on this round either, despite the fact that there is no bet facing the first player; the first player must open or fold. Each player is then dealt a fifth card, followed by a third betting round beginning on the dealer's left.

At this point, checking is allowed. Finally, each player draws as in normal draw poker, followed by a fourth betting round and showdown. Ace-to-five low values are used. Played at fixed limit , it is recommended that the betting structure be ; that is, the second and third betting rounds should allow a bet of twice the amount of the first round, and the final bet should allow four times the amount of the first round.

These are somewhat less-serious games that are typically played only in home games at small stakes. This does not necessarily mean that there is less opportunity for skillful play, just that the games are seen as more social than competitive. To help grow the betting pot in a home game, one can add a variant known as the "kill card" to the rules.

Kill cards work best with stud games or shared card games as no one player can control when the "kill card" is played. This is a draw game that plays much like a stud game.

First five cards are dealt to each player, followed by a betting round, and a draw. Now, in place of a second round and showdown, there is a rollout phase, which begins with the players arranging their five cards in any chosen order, placing them face down in front of themselves. Each player's top card is now revealed, followed by a betting round. Then each player reveals his next card, followed by a betting round.

Then a third card is revealed, followed by a betting round, a fourth card, a betting round, and finally a showdown. Players may not change the order of their cards at any time during the rollout phase.

This game can be played for high or low, but plays best at high-low split , in which case it is called "Skinny Minnie". On the initial deal, each player is dealt four cards, and then a single card is dealt to the center of the table face up. This card plays as if it were the fifth card in every player's hand. It is also a wild card, and every other card of its rank is also wild. The first betting round is then played, followed by a draw in which each player replaces cards from his hand with an equal number, so that each player still has only four cards in hand.

A final betting round is followed by a showdown. High-hand values are used. An alternative is to deal similar to a regular draw poker hand, during which any player can shout "Spit!

In some variants, only the "spit" card can be used as a wild card. Here's a sample deal: Alice deals four cards to each player, then deals the next card face up to the center of the table. Bob discards two cards, and receives two replacements. Carol draws one card, and Alice draws one. The cards in Carol's hand are Q-Q Because the 6 in her hand and the one on the board are wild, her hand is four queens.

Alice's hand contains K-J , all spades. With the shared wild card, this gives her a flush, which loses to Carol's four queens. The game is mentioned in the Ray Stevens song " Shriner's Convention ". Seven cards are dealt to each player. Before the first betting round, each player examines his hand, and removes exactly three cards from his hand and places them on the table to his left. After each person has thus discarded, he picks up the cards discarded by his right-hand neighbor and places them in his hand thus, each player will have given three cards to his left-hand neighbor.

It is important that each player discard before looking at the cards he is to receive. After the first pass, there is a betting round. Then a second pass occurs, each player passing two cards to his right. A second betting round is followed by a third pass, each player passing one card to his left.

Finally, a third betting round and a showdown, in which the player with the best five-card high hand he can make out of the seven in his hand wins the pot. In some casual games, the showdown is replaced by a rollout phase, as described above in "Shotgun".

This makes a total of eight betting rounds in the game, which generally destroys any chance for skillful play in the later rounds. Any of the above games can be modified in many ways upon player whim, by designating additional wild cards, betting rounds, more or fewer cards, altered hand values, and any other change agreed upon by all players prior to each deal.

Such a game can be announced by using the name of an existing game and specifying the variations, for example "Three-card Triple-draw California lowball, Kings wild". Many times this will result in a game that does not play well, but occasionally will produce a game that is well-suited to a particular group of players. Do you remember another incident concerning Ian Poulter on the putting green? Check out this blog entry of mine; http: Anonymous, If the player did not lift his marker after placing it in the wrong place there is no penalty if he subsequently replaced it at the marker.

However, if the player lifted his marker he would be penalised under Rule ; If a ball to be replaced is placed other than on the spot from which it was lifted or moved and the error is not corrected as provided in Rule , the player incurs the general penalty, loss of hole in match play or two strokes in stroke play, for a breach of the applicable Rule.

Anonymous, Not in my opinion, the exception a iv would excuse him; The line of putt must not be touched except: I see this quite frequently where players have marked their ball on the green and then in the process of replacing the ball, they will place the ball, ball rolls slightly, they replace the ball in attempt to steady the ball. Is the ball in play as soon as they release the ball?

Are they incurring strokes every time they touch it? This kind of blends in with the comment I believe Janice wrote a while back where a player placed their ball and it rolled while they were in the process of measuring their putt. In that case what should the golfer have done to avoid a penalty stroke? Dave, The player is obliged to replace their ball where it was when they marked it. So, if it settles away from that place they must replace it again at the marker.

There is no penalty for doing so. In fact, if they don't replace their ball where it was when they marked it they incur a penalty of two strokes in stroke play for playing from the wrong place. If a ball has been replaced in the correct place and it subsequently moves usually due to wind or gradient then the ball must be played from where it comes to rest, without penalty.

Hi Barry, If the ball moves in the act of lifting the marker caused by their finger accidently touching the ball , do they need to replace their marker first before replacing the ball to it's original position. Or can they just replace the ball to as near to the original position as possible on the basis that they can't be certain where to replace their marker anyway.

Joe, There is no penalty if a player accidentally moves their ball or ball marker in the process of lifting, placing or replacing a ball Rules and If the spot where the ball or ball-marker lay is not known, it must be placed as near as possible to where it lay but not nearer the hole Rule c. Thanks Barry, The rule uses says the ball OR the ball marker must be replaced.

In my example both the ball and marker have been moved the marker into the players hand. The use of OR in the rule seems to suggest that replacing the ball only would be ok.

Joe, Yes, if the ball and ball-marker are both accidentally moved during the marking or replacing process then either the ball or the ball-marker must be replaced as near as possible to where it lay. I heard if you mark your ball on the green then set up for your putt and everything set the ball and take away the marker but u decide to mark it again and move the ball is that a penalty? Anonymous, No, Rule b does not put any limit on the number of times that you may mark and lift your ball on the putting green.

Zach Johnson was just penalized two strokes for not properly marking his ball. Can another player Jason Dufner his oponnent or his caddie remind him to mark it correctly or say something when he marked it wrong before he putts. Anonymous, Information on the Rules is not advice and anyone may and should stop a player from breaching a Rule. Duffner was quite correct in bringing Johnson's breach to his attention regarding the ball putted from the wrong place.

Johnson correctly then added the penalty to his score before signing and returning his score card. If he had not done so he would have been disqualified for signing for a wrong score. Anonymous, Part of Rule states; In stroke play, if the Committee determines that competitors have agreed not to lift a ball that might assist any competitor, they are disqualified.

Thanks for fielding my question Barry, Does a player incur a penalty if they remind a fellow competitor to return his mark after moving it from the line of his fellow competitor. Is this considered advice? Anonymous, No, information on the Rules is not advice Definition of Advice. In fact, players are encouraged to stop fellow competitors from breaching the Rules. Hi Barry, what if someone places the ball back on the green and the ball moves to a specific place several times.

You can't really tell if that's where the ball is supposed to be or if it is in the wrong place, so the player plays from there. Now, does the player get the benefit of doubt? Anonymous, If the player has tried to replace their ball at their marker, but cannot get it to rest there, they may place it at the nearest point to that spot, not nearer the hole, where it will stay at rest, without penalty.

Thanks Barry, so if the ball keeps collecting to a specific spot, the ball can be played from there right? Or does the player have to place it at the spot? So can he place it where he thinks it should be and let it roll a bit to that spot and then play from there? Anonymous, The spot where the ball keeps settling in is not the spot where the player is trying to replace it. As I said in my previous reply, the player must then try to place the ball at the nearest point to where it was marked, not nearer the hole.

If this is where the ball kept settling then that is the spot where it should be placed. However, if that spot was nearer the hole then it must not be placed there. Ok, but if the ball doesn't stay anywhere else other than the spot where it is collecting, then the player can play from there provided it is not closer to the hole, right?

Anonymous, You seem to be having a problem understanding this. There has to be somewhere else on the golf course, other than the spot where it naturally rolls to, where the ball may be placed at rest. If the ball will not come to rest where it was marked the player must place it at the nearest point that is not closer to the hole.

If this is the point that it naturally rolls to then that is the where it should be placed; if there is another point that is nearer then it is not. Hi Barry, what if a player realizes that he has broken a rule after the tournament has finished?

Anonymous, If the competition result has not been officially announced the player is disqualified for returning a card that had a lower score than was actually scored, due to the omission of the penalty. However, once the result has been officially announced the Committee may not impose any penalty on a player for failing to include a penalty that they did not know they had incurred Rule b. Anonymous, Part of the Exceptions to Rule ; A penalty of disqualification must be imposed after the competition has closed if a competitor: Ok thanks Barry, one last situation, what if something happened to a player during one of the rounds and he was not sure if he was in breach of the rules or not.

He didn't tell anyone, and after the competition has closed, he thinks he may be in breach of a rule. What does the player do? Anonymous, A player should not sign and return their score card if they or their marker have any doubt about a possible breach of the Rules. They should obtain a ruling from a Committee member before returning their card. If there is no Committee member present they should attach a note to their signed score card outlining all the facts of the situation.

In your sitaution, the player had returned a score card knowing that a breach may have occurred, he should immediately inform the Committee, who should then disqualify him if they rule that a breach had been incurred, which was not included in the score for the hole.

There is no time limit on the disqualification as the player was aware that a there was a possibility that he had incurred a penalty Rule b iii. Ok, but doesn't the situation above fall under the player not knowing if he had incurred a penalty, therefore the committee cannot penalize him after the competition has closed. Anonymous 7 handicapper, There is no penalty for marking your ball to the side, providing you replace it where it was when you marked it.

If you forget, and replace it in front of the ball marker you are penalised two strokes for playing from the wrong place. In doubles match play if 1 member of the team marks his ball and then replaces it in the wrong spot and plays his shot, does the team lose the hole?

Anonymous, No, only the player that putted from the wrong place is disqualified from the hole; their partner may continue play Rule e. Hi Barry, So if one player in a four ball team breaches a rule, its only him that is out of the hole right? The other partner can still play on right?

Anonymous, A four-ball team competition is not a format that is recognised by the Rules of Golf. However, in the absence of any relevant Condition of Competition, only the player breaching a Rule relating to marking a ball is penalised, not the side. Be aware that there are some other Rules breaches that result in the side being disqualified, see Rule So basically if one player breaches a general rule, Touches sand in a bunker or moves loose impediments in a hazard it only means that they are out of the hole and their partner can still play on.

Anonymous, That is correct, providing their breach does not also assist the play of a partner team member. Hi Barry, Just wanted to check a ruling. Say Lasers Bushnell's are not allowed for a club medal. Player A and B are playing together. Player B doesn't know that lasers are not allowed and so he uses it. Out of Kindness, player B tells player A the distances that he got through the laser.

Player A did not ask for the distances. Player A knows that lasers are not allowed so player B is in breach of the rule. Since player A knows that player B will tell him the distances even though he doesn't ask for them, player A doesn't tell player B that he is breach of the rule.

Hi Barry, This is the situation I was faced with a couple of days ago. I hit my approach shot onto the green. I went to the green and saw that my ball was just in front of my ball mark.

So, just for safety that the marker didn't move while I was repairing the ball mark, I moved my marker, repaired my ball mark, and then moved my marker back. I then placed my ball in front of the marker like I usually would, but I noticed that my ball was not right it front of the repaired pitch mark.

In other words, when I was moving my marker back and forth, I must have not moved it at the same angle, and so the marker moved closer to the hole, and hence the ball was closer to the hole as well. So, i moved my marker back to where I estimated it was, and placed the ball in the estimated place that it was. Did I do the correct thing? Anonymous, I recommend that you check out my blog from 6th October , entitled "Every Golfer is a Referee".

In stroke play, competitors have a responsibility to all the other competitors in the competition to advise fellow competitors when they breach a Rule and make sure that the penalty incurred is included in their returned score.

In my opinion, the Committee would be correct in disqualifying a player who not only did not inform a fellow competitor of a breach of the Rules using the distance measuring device but has personally benefited from information passed on to him that was obtained from its use. Anonymous, Ideally you should have explained what you were doing to a fellow competitor, to make sure that you could not be accused of replacing your ball in a better spot than where it was lifted from.

However, no penalty was incurred, providing the ball was eventually replaced at the correct spot. Part of Rule states; There is no penalty, provided the movement of the ball or ball-marker is directly attributable to the specific act of marking the position of or lifting the ball.

Hi Barry, just a follow up on my previous question on lasers. What if player A doesn't tell player B his breach for 2 holes. Player A then tells player B that he is in breach on the third hole. So, player A has got an advantage for 2 holes. Does this mean disqualification for player A? Anonymous, My original answer stands; "In my opinion, the Committee would be correct in disqualifying a player who not only did not inform a fellow competitor of a breach of the Rules using the distance measuring device but has personally benefited from information passed on to him that was obtained from its use.

Hey Barry, I just wanted to check a rule Today, my paying partner couldn't get his ball to rest where he was trying to place it. On the putting green His ball kept moving a couple inches to the left. He tried to place it correctly times. It kept moving to the same place. Then, when the ball moved again on his 4th attempt to place it correctly, he just left the ball at the new place and played from there.

The new place was not closer to the hole so does that mean he is waived of any penalty? Anonymous, This part of Rule d is relevant; If a ball when placed fails to come to rest on the spot on which it was placed, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced.

If it still fails to come to rest on that spot: Hi Barry, what is the definition of "Artificial device"? Is a towel considered an artificial device? A towel is not an artificial device; it is part of a player's equipment. However, Rule states that equipment may not be used in an unusual manner. For example a towel may be used to dry the grip of a club, or even be wrapped around the grip while the player makes their stroke Rule c , but there may be other occasions where the use of a towel may be ruled as being unusual, which would then incur a penalty.

Just wanted to clarify one situation. I had used a towel to wipe the ball on the green. I then tossed it to the side. I made my putt and then went over to the towel and made a few practice strokes near the towel just to check my stroke path. When I checked the rules about this action, it said that it would be a penalty "If it may assist me in making a stroke stroke" My understanding is that if I had placed it in a place that would have helped me during my stoke, then it would be a penalty.

YashM, If you purposely leave anything in a position so as to assist you with your line of play for a stroke you are penalised under Rule a; Any mark placed by the player or with his knowledge to indicate the line must be removed before the stroke is made. This is A different issue from using equipment in an unusual manner, Rule It is better if you address these types of queries to me by email, rather than using the blog comments section.

Hi Barry, I had a query related to what 'Anonymous' posted on March 17th. Anonymous, A qualified yes. If the point that the ball naturally rolls to is the 'nearest point' to where they are trying to replace it at their ball-marker, then yes, they may play from there. But in the comment that you refer to, that point was a "couple of inches" away.

In my experience, there was probably a place nearer to the spot where the ball should have been replaced, perhaps by placing it on the other side of the ball-marker, but not nearer the hole, than the direction in which it was rolling. A player may not purposely touch their ball in play without marking it Rule a i. Hi Barry, Frank here. I had a question on doubt. So, say when someone is placing their ball back on the green, the ball moves half and inch. He tries to place it on the original spot several times, but it keeps moving That spot is not closer to the hole, so he is eligible to play from there, if there is no closer spot.

Say he plays from half an inch away. From the original spot Now, he will never know if that was the nearest spot to the original spot, because he didn't try any other spot. Hi Barry, can a player move his marker a grip length away, to get out of someone elses line?

Or can he only use his putterhead to move the marker? Anonymous, Part of the Note to Rule states, "If the ball-marker interferes with the play, stance or stroke of another player, it should be placed one or more clubhead-lengths to one side.

Frank, I think that in the circumstances that you describe it would be very harsh to penalise the player two strokes for playing from the wrong place. However, the player was obviously not trying to gain advantage and it would be a very zealous Rules official who would penalise them for an infringement. Hi Barry, was just reading some of the other queries, and saw a lot about the ball moving on the green! I had one based on that as well. What if a player's ball continuously collects to a spot.

The player leaves it there and picks up his marker. He then remembers that he should have tried to replace his ball as close to the original spot as possible. So, he remarks it, and moves the ball a bit to the right of the marker. Because that spot to the right, would have been closer to the original spot The ball comes to rest there, and so he plays from there.

Anonymous, Yes, providing the player does their best to replace their ball as near to where it was marked and lifted as they can. Of course, in these circumstances it would be advisable to inform the marker as to why the ball is being lifted and replaced at a different place.

Ok thanks, but it isn't compulsory to inform the marker, right? Also, once the player picks up his marker, and then remarks it at the new spot, he may not know where 'exactly' the original spot was.

So, he could just estimate right? And if in doubt, he should put it in a position where it is definitely isn't closer to the hole than his original spot right? So that he doesn't gain any advantage. Anonymous, It is not compulsory to inform the marker, although, as I said, it would be advisable to do so.

Otherwise, you are right, in these circumstances the player must make their best estimate as to where their ball originally came to rest. And if the player is in doubt, he should place it further from the hole rather than closer to the hole right?

Anonymous, The player must make their best effort to place their ball where it was originally at rest , not any further from the hole and not any nearer to the hole. Ok, I understand what you are saying but say a player and marker disagree on where the ball should be. Then, the ball should be placed where it is further from the hole right?

So that no advantage is gained. Anonymous, That is a decision that the player and marker must make. If it were me, and I was sure that I was right about where my ball was at rest, I would place my ball there, as the Rules require, and then, if the marker refused to mark my card, I would explain my position to the Committee. By placing my ball further away from the hole than where I thought is should be placed I would then be playing from the wrong place.

Hi Barry, Gerald here. I was reading anonymous's query on 10th May. I had a question on preciseness. Basically what had happened to me, was that I had tried for quite a while to try to get the ball to rest on the original spot. I then left the ball at where it was collecting, and picked up my marker. I then remarked it to try to place it closer to the original point.

Now, I didn't feel that my ball was at the correct spot, but since I had taken so long and didn't want to take any longer, I just played from there Whats the ruling here?

Gerald, It seems that you made your best effort to determine the nearest place where you could place your ball at rest, which was as near as possible to where it had been marked. Therefore, you acted within the Rules. We are talking millimetres here and it would be a very pedantic person who would try and impose a penalty in this, or the situation described in the previous comment. Actually what happened was that I remarked the ball the second time to try to place it back on the original spot.

But, when I moved the ball to put it back on the original spot, I just had this feeling that I had not moved it enough and it was frankly not in the spot I wanted it to be in. But, I had taken some time doing all this, so I didn't want to remark the ball again and take even more time.

Now, the thing is that there is no proof that I didn't play from the orignal spot, there is just that 'feeling' of mine that tells me I didn't play from the original spot. Sorry if this sounds weird. Do you understand what I mean? Gerald, I completely understand what you are saying and refer you to my previous answer. However, if you feel that you should have penalised yourself then I am sure that no-one is going to argue with you. The only reason why I think I may not have breached a rule is that because when I first tried to place it on the original spot, it wouldn't come to rest.

So, the fact that later I didn't place it on the original spot, I think, maybe ok since it probably wouldn't have come to rest there anyway, as it wasn't coming to rest previously. The only thing is that later, I didn't 'intentionally' place it at the nearest spot. I didn't know the correct procedure then I placed it at a spot between the original spot and the spot it was collecting too. When I think back to that incident, I think that the spot where I eventually placed the ball was quite close to the original spot, but I don't know if that was the 'closest'spot.

Im not sure what I should do now. Any help will be appreciated. Gerald, What more can I say? If you won a prize, then give it back and salve your conscience. If you took money off your fellow competitors then pay them back! If neither are relevant then forget the incident; you are probably the only one worrying about it. I cannot help any more. But can someone be penalized without definitive proof? Could you please clarify that if someone doesn't go through the correct procedure but it turns out that the end result was not a breach, is he still penalized for going through the wrong procedure?

Gerald, The answer to your first question is, Yes, a Committee's decision is final even if it is wrong! The answer to your second question is , No. Barry When did the rule regarding ball-markers change stop. I recall that in the s what is now the recommendation in the notice to rule was a compulsory definition. I also seem to remember that there was a specific exclusion from using playing equipment clubs, tees etc to mark a ball.

In when I was playing in a provincial amateur championship my opponent claimed the whole which I was certain to win otherwise when I marked my bowl with a tee. I was incensed, but we checked it with the rules committee afterwards and he was correct.

Anthony, I make a habit of only studying and interpreting the Rules as they are now. However, there was a change from the Rules.

I will look at the rules history website. Sorry about the typos in my query. I use voice recognition and I didn't check it before I sent it to you. Hi Barry, today when I lifted my ball, i think i may have brushed my marker and moved it slightly behind. I didn't know exactly how much it moved, so I left it at the new spot and played.

Cause if had moved it forward again, and it turned out that I moved it too far forward, then i would have played from closer to the hole. The movement was only about a cm. Anonymous, If you moved your ball-marker while you were in the act of marking your ball there is no penalty and you replace the ball marker where you think that it should be to accurately mark where your ball was at rest before it was lifted.

Because you think that you moved your marker a centimetre and did not then replace it where it should have been, you incurred a penalty of two strokes in stroke play of playing your ball from the wrong place. What you should probably have done in this circumstance is to say to your fellow competitors that you think that you moved your ball-marker forward fractionally and that you were moving it back a centimetre, as that is your best estimate of where it was.

Thanks for all your wonderful blogs - most informative. I have difficulty lining up putts and my golf pro has suggested that I put a black line round the circumference of my golf balls and use a large ball marker similar to a poker chip with a black felt tip line running through the diameter of the ball marker similar idea to using the align aid shown in the photo.

The method is simple - I place the ball marker behind the ball to mark the position of the ball, ensuring that the black line on the ball marker also points along the line of the putt.

I then lift the ball, step back to double check my line of play using the black line on the ball marker if necessary rotating the ball marker then ensure that the line of the ball and the line of the ball marker are aligned.

I then lift the ball marker and play my shot. I intent to use this for practice rounds but would this method of alignment be permitted during a competitive round of golf? I know that I can use a line marked on a golf ball to indicate my line of play.

This suggests that this practice would be OK provided that the ball marker is removed before making the stroke but I still have a niggling doubt as to whether the line of the ball marker could be construed as a training aid — in which case its use during a competitive round of golf would be illegal. Could I use the ball marker shown in your photo to align my putts? What about some of the LPGA golfers who seem to indicate their line of putt with a tee pointing along their line of putt?

As you can see I am confused as to what is, and what is not, allowed to be used to assist in the alignment of my putts. Gordon, You may line up your ball-marker and your ball in the way that you describe, with the one exception that I have noted. There are four points to remember; 1. Do not align your ball unless the ball-marker is in place, or you will be penalised one stroke. Do not align your ball-marker unless the ball is in place, or you will be penalised one stroke.

So, the bracketed part of this sentence from you question is not permitted, "I then lift the ball, step back to double check my line of play using the black line on the ball marker, if necessary rotating the ball marker " 3. Lift the ball-marker before you make your stroke.

for Adults & Children